Disabling users

Learn how to disable a user's access to Retool.

As an admin user, you can easily disable any user's access within your Retool organization. Disabling a user prevents them from logging into their Retool account (as well as accessing or editing any tools, queries, or datasources in your shared Retool organization).

If you can't see Settings > Users you are not an admin and will not be able to perform the tasks described in this guide.

📘

Deleting vs. Disabling Users

In Retool you cannot delete users once they have accepted a request and joined your account. You can, however, disable access to their account. The reason for this is to maintain secure and accurate audit logs. If a user gets deleted, then the audit trail would disappear as well!

Disabling a User's Account

  1. Open Settings > Users
  2. From your list of users, select the user whose account you want to disable
  3. Review the USER DETAILS panel to make sure you have the right account
  4. Toggle the Enabled switch to the OFF position
Figure 1. The Users page demonstrating disabled user. The **Enabled** switch is grey when in the OFF position.Figure 1. The Users page demonstrating disabled user. The **Enabled** switch is grey when in the OFF position.

Figure 1. The Users page demonstrating disabled user. The Enabled switch is grey when in the OFF position.


Enable a User's Account

If you need to re-enable a user's account, you can simply toggle the Enabled switch back to the on position.

  1. Open Settings > Users
  2. From your list of users, select the user whose account you want to enable
  3. Review the USER DETAILS panel to make sure you have the right account
  4. Toggle the Enabled switch to the ON position
Figure 1. The **Users** page demonstrating re-enabled user. The **Enabled** switch is blue when in the ON position.Figure 1. The **Users** page demonstrating re-enabled user. The **Enabled** switch is blue when in the ON position.

Figure 1. The Users page demonstrating re-enabled user. The Enabled switch is blue when in the ON position.


Did this page help you?